Friendship, Solitude and Routine

Friendship, Solitude and Routine

May is April's optimistic twin

Friends that last a long time are certainly a blessing. The highest point of this month was the fun weekend my friends and I had together to mark 10 years of being friends. I had a great time planning it even though it got stressful and annoying at some point (you guys know how you stressed me out 🙄) but we had a great time together playing games and getting to know what we think about each other. Even though we are quite similar, I wouldn't describe us as "birds of a feather" because individually we are quite different but together we map to each other and bond over one or more similarities, this creates a kind of pair bond separate from the group which I feel strengthens our bond as a group. The most important part is that we are always there for one another, some of us with weapons and some of us with tissues 😅.

After a great time with my friends, it was back to work and the backlog of thesis tasks I had to do. This was cut short by a swollen right hand that came out of nowhere. It was so scary and painful, I couldn't type so I couldn't work. I couldn't sleep at night and began to understand those that get addicted to painkillers, they're like lifeboats in the sea. My hand started getting better and we welcomed two new babies in my family (extended not nuclear). My sister and I were on the hospital back and forth route taking care of whatever needs they might have since we are the closest in terms of location. Needless to say, I didn't do much but I have a new baby to spoil and I'm loving it.

This month I spent extended periods of time alone which gave me the time for some self reflection. it's not as fancy as it sounds, I just spoke to myself and did whatever people did alone. It's quite entertaining for me to be alone, especially if I have power and an internet connection (do not underestimate the joy of watching tiktoks without earbuds) or a good book. Sometimes I chose to stay home while my family went out just to not be around people for a while, It's totally the same as touching grass 😌 (argue with your screen). Speaking about touching grass, I decided to develop a small exercise routine which involved me waking up early, doing some stretches and taking a 20-30 minute walk. I don't know if it helps for real or it's a placebo, either way I still felt more in tune with myself and much more relaxed.

It's funny how May is one of my best months but It's the one for which words seem to fail me. I'll say that May for me was every bit like April but with 5 days of happiness and a few minutes everyday to set it apart. So, a staycation, two babies and moments of self reflection for my SLIGHTLY DELIGHTFUL MEMORABLE month of May.

More Posts