My Baby Steps into Tech

My Baby Steps into Tech

About me

I am a software developer and a graduate of computer engineering. When I'm not coding, I'm watching Animes, sleeping or reading (Books, mangas, webcomics and anything that I find captivating).

Why tech?

I have always been fascinated with technology. I loved puzzles and anything with a formulae/syntax (yes, I'm talking about the incredible mathematics😁). Unfortunately, I had no one to put me through until I got into the university and realized C programming language was part of the second year syllabus; I was excited. I couldn't wait to start it.

Hello world and Basics

#include <stdio.h>    
int main()
    { 
        // Displays the string inside quotations
        printf("Hello World");
            return 0;
    }

My first hello world display felt wonderful. I felt so accomplished. I went back home and kept printing outputs. I was so proud of myself and of course the fact that my family kept asking questions was wonderful. I finally felt like someone in tech.

Writing code for mathematical equations became my favorite pastime. As a newbie, I didn't know the value of " understanding one before going to the next", so when I found out C++ was part of year 3, I dove in🤦🏽‍♀️. I spent my holiday learning everything about basic C++.

Getting Comfortable

The tech community always finds its kind and my case wasn't different. When my classmates found out about my interests, I finally got a nudge in the right direction. I attended meetups, workshops and got introduced to platforms where I could ask questions and improve.I finally decided to settle first for python for data science before getting into web development.

Conclusion

I can proudly say that, in the past two years, I have safely made it out of noob coder and I'm in that little space between noob and intermediate level. 😊

Resources that help me while starting out.

  • Automate the boring stuff with python
  • freecodecamp.org
  • w3schools.com
  • Lastly but definitely not the list, Documentations

More Posts